Home > LGBT News, Politics > US Senator Richard Durbin on #ENDA and #LGBT Rights

US Senator Richard Durbin on #ENDA and #LGBT Rights

July 17, 2013
Advocate Against Discrimination

Advocate Against Discrimination (Photo credit: FreePride Foundation Project)

This is why I LOVE my US Senator Dick Durbin…

July 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Black:
Thank you for contacting me about employment non-discrimination. I appreciate hearing from you.
Throughout my service in Congress, I have supported legislation to end discrimination based on factors such as race, religion, and sexual orientation. Fair and equal treatment of all Americans is a cornerstone of our society and our political system. Unfortunately, despite great progress, the struggle for civil rights and equal treatment under the law continues today for many citizens.
In each of the last several Congresses including the 112th, I have cosponsored the Employment Non-Discrimination Act. This measure would prohibit employment discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation. Specifically, it would make it unlawful for employers to discharge or refuse to hire any individual, or limit any individual’s employment opportunities, based on that person’s sexual orientation.
As a member of the Senate Judiciary Committee, and as a long-time supporter of employment non-discrimination efforts, I will continue to work toward the goals of this legislation.
Thanks again for sharing your views. Please feel free to keep in touch.
Sincerely,
United States Senator
RJD/ab
