Home > LGBT News > First Transgender Person to Provide Testimony to U.S. Senate

First Transgender Person to Provide Testimony to U.S. Senate

June 16, 2012

O-blog-dee-o-blog-da

“Living the truth and pretending to live who I was not…people never understood why I had a female gender marker…I  .. when I used female restrooms police would accost me and I would have to strip….”

By Melanie Nathan, June 13, 2012.

Kylar Broadus made history Tuesday, after becoming the first openly transgender person to testify before the U.S. Senate.

Broadus testified  for the Employment Non-Discrimination Act (ENDA), which if passed would prohibit employment discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity.

Broadus  is the founder of Trans People of Color Coalition (TPOCC),  an attorney and professor of law Lincoln University of Missouri.

Kylar W. Broadus’ Testimony before the U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee

106 Dirksen Senate Office Building
June 12, 2012
10 a.m.

Mr. Chairman and members of the committee, my name is Kylar William Broadus and I’m the Executive Director of the…

View original post 1,544 more words

