Home > LGBT News > Equality At Work

Equality At Work

June 16, 2012

My Queer Agenda

A lot of companies talk a big game when it comes to diversity in the workplace but do they really understand the meaning of ‘diversity’? Off the bat when I hear the word diversity I think of difference. It could refer to difference in religion, difference in political views and of course difference in sexual preference just to name a few. “Preference”- that word doesn’t sit too well with me but we’ll touch on that another time. My issue is with LGBT inclusivity in the workplace.

Coming from a country in which diversity wasn’t an option, I really appreciate the effort that employers put into making the work environment more welcoming and comfortable for everyone but I think there’s still some more that can be done. I’m not saying that some or most companies don’t do a great job of being inclusive and supporting their LGBT employees. I’m just speaking…

View original post 563 more words

