Home > Awareness, LGBT News > Coming Out at the Office: ABC’s Dan Kloeffler

Coming Out at the Office: ABC’s Dan Kloeffler

October 19, 2011

 

 

Dan Kloeffler, a journalist for ABC News came out of the closet yesterday.  Although he’s been out to friends, family and co-workers for years, he’s never come out publicly at work.  Inspired by Zachary Quinto‘s reason for coming out- to inspire and be a positive role model for LGBT youth, Kloeffler a nationally recognized journalist followed quickly in his footsteps (Quinto’s cute ass had nothing to do with it…really!)

Kind of a big moment for me while filling in on World News Now, which is by far the most fun you can legally have at 3:00 in the morning! Yunji de Nies and I were talking about celebrity headlines, when I read the story about Zachary Quinto, who played Spock in “Star Trek,” coming out as gay in a magazine interview. Because WNN is a show where you can offer some personality, I had a little fun with the story saying that I would drop my rule against dating actors.

I’ve never shared that I’m gay on-air, even though I’ve been out to my family, friends and co-workers for years. In fact, an old boyfriend – now best friend – has always given me a hard time about not doing so. But for the same reason that Zach decided to come out, I too, no longer wanted to hide this part of my life.

There have been too many tragic endings and too many cases of bullying because of intolerance. As a kid I wanted someone to look up to, someone that could relate to the feelings I was having. Most of all, I wanted to know that it would get better.

And it did.

As a journalist, I don’t want to be the story, but as a gay man I don’t want to stand silent if I can offer some inspiration or encouragement to kids that might be struggling with who they are.

via To Boldly Go… – ABC News.

I applaud Kloeffler and Quinto’s decision.  It’s never to late to step up, step out and do the right thing!

I’ve gotten on my soapbox before about coming out at work and I’m going to say it again!

People who hide who they are in the workplace should be ashamed of themselves!  Putting the risk of losing their jobs or worrying about how they’ll be perceived above their self esteem, above who they are and what they SHOULD stand for is appalling.  As adult LGBT people it’s our responsibility to speak through our actions!

How can you be a model for younger people that it’s OK to be LGBT, to be who you are, that IT GETS BETTER and that you should fight to be first class citizens if you can’t even tell your employer.

How can you sit back and let others do the work of advancing our rights while hiding in the closet.  If you want to one day be able to marry your partner in any state, to have equal employment and housing opportunities and equal civil rights it’s up to EVERY individual LGBT citizen to pick up that torch and carry it, regardless of the personal burden you endure.  We will NEVER gain equality if we hide in the closet and hope that someone ELSE works in our best interests.

It’s time people take responsibility and stand up, stand proud and stand out!  Stop hiding among your straight peers, within your families and among your coworkers.

Being a part of a silent majority of LGBT is no longer acceptable.  Use your voice, your words, your economic power and take ACTION!

  • Don’t shop at businesses who further the anti-gay discriminatory agenda
  • Vote against politicians who continue to stifle equality legislation- LGBT Rights are Human Rights!
  • Attend rallies & protests to further the LGBT community causes-Speak Out!
  • Come OUT to your family, your friends, your coworkers and your employers.  Visibility is political power!
  • Volunteer and donate locally!

Take personal action for those who fought and died for who they were, do it for those children who took their own lives because of bullying or being ashamed of who they are.  Take action for future generations so that they will not endure what we’ve endured. Take action for yourself… be a better person, server a higher human cause!

“Our invisibility is the essence of our oppression. And until we eliminate that invisibility, people are going to be able to perpetuate the lies and myths about gay people.” – Jean O’Leary


