Home > LGBT News > For One Ottawa Gay Teen It Didn’t Get Better Soon Enough…

For One Ottawa Gay Teen It Didn’t Get Better Soon Enough…

October 17, 2011
Father says ‘bullying was definitely a factor’ in son Jamie Hubley’s suicide

15yo Jamie Hubley

Another soul lost to despair and depression from months of bullying.  Ottowa resident Jamie Hubley, a 15-year-old gay teen took his own life  after blogging his suicide note just hours before.  His father, Allan released a statement that Jamie had been bullied.

In a statement released by his family on Monday, Jamie’s father Allan Hubley said “bullying was definitely a factor” in his son’s death.

via Ottawa gay teen commits suicide after months of online posts documenting his depression – LGBTQ Nation.

Jamie’s final blog read:

You Can’t Break… When You’re Already Broken

Im a casualty of love.

Well, Im tired of life really. Its so hard, Im sorry, I cant take it anymore.

First Id like to mention my friends Nancy, Abby, Colleen, jemma, and Kasia

Being sad is sad : /. I’v been like this for way to long. I cant stand school, I cant stand earth, I cant stand society, I cant stand the scars on my arms, I cant fucking stand any fucking thing.

I dont want my parents to think this is their fault either… I love my mom and dad : ) Its just too hard. I dont want to wait 3 more years, this hurts too much. How do you even know It will get better? Its not.

I hit rock fucking bottom, fell through a crack, now im stuck.

My favorite singers were lady gaga , Adele , Katy perry, and  Jessie james, Christina aguilara and most of all I think KASIA!!! I LOVED Singing, and she helped me a lot  : ) Im not that good at it though :”/, Im going to miss you guys

(well You know who you are, But to the people who didnt like me (many) A big fuck you, Go ride a unicorn. But w/e I love you anyway.)

Remember me as a Unicorn :3 x) MAybe in my next life Il be a flying squirreel 😀

Il fly away.

via You cant break. . . When you’re already broken..

I spent some time this evening reading Jamie’s blog and watching videos of him that he had made covering various artists on youtube.  In a world where we’re peppered with violence and growing more disconnected, it’s easy to think of Jamie as another anonymous casualty of teen depression and bullying.  I encourage you to read his blog and watch some of his videos.  Put a face to the name.  This was a young and beautiful soul who felt so trapped and depressed that the only way he could resolve his pain was to take his own life.  It’s sad, it’s heart breaking and it’s REAL.

Jamie… May you find peace and all those things you hoped for in the next life.  God rest your soul and God bless your family as they try and make sense of their loss…

If your a troubled teen and have no one to turn to, call 1-866-4-u-trevor for help.  It can get better…

 

Jamie’s friend left a final salute… be prepared to cry…

 

