Home > Awareness, Bigot, homophobia, LGBT News > Exposing Legislative Hate in Kansas

Exposing Legislative Hate in Kansas

February 22, 2011

Religious Extremists in Kansas

 

Manhattan, Kansas recently passed an amended human rights ordinance that will add sexual orientation and gender identity language to the existing anti-discrimination ordinance.

In response to this ordinance, House Bill No. 2260 was presented to the House Judiciary Committee in Topeka the next day.

This Bill would allow individuals to discriminate against members of protected classes not included in the state statute, so long as the individual can claim that such discrimination is a protected religious belief.

They call it the “Religious Preservation Act” — EVERY CURRENT GLBT NON DISCRIMINATION ordinance in KANSAS will be in JEOPARDY if this Bill is allowed to pass- including LAWRENCE, MANHATTAN AND TOPEKA!!

Currently, Kansas law allows discrimination against the LGBT community. By that I mean, discrimination is legal only because there is no law against it and they continuously deny adding sexual orientation perceived or otherwise and gender identity to the list of protected classes.

Passing House Bill No. 2260 would make such discrimination a protected legal right for those who felt it placed an undue burden on them and their religious beliefs.

Tell the Legislators listed below…YOU do not support hatred!! We love all Kansans, regardless of their race, nationality, gender, creed, religion, handicap, age, sexual orientation or gender identity.

Jon Powell
Kansas Equality Coalition

House Judiciary Members Business Contact Information
Lance Kinzer
• Olathe
• C 785-296-7692
• H 913-829-6404
• lance@lancekinzer.com

• Joe Patton
• Topeka
• C 785-296-7693
• H 785-267-0116
joepatton2001@msn.com

• Janice Pauls
• Hutchinson
• C 785-296-7657
• H 620-663-8961
janice.pauls@house.ks.gov

• Steve Alford
• Ulysses
• C 785-296-7696
• H 620-356-1361
j.stephen.alford@house.ks.gov

• Benny Boman
• WICHITA
• C 785-296-7690
• H 316-945-0771
benny.boman@house.ks.gov

• Bob Brookens
• Marion
• C 785-296-7636
• H 620-382-3556
brookens70@sbcglobal.net
Rob Bruchman
• Overland Park
• C 785-296-7644
• H 913-709-0766
rob.bruchman@house.ks.gov
• Dan Collins
• Plainville
• C 785-296-7699
• H 785-434-2283
dan.collins@house.ks.gov

• Pat Colloton
• Leawood
• C 785-296-7631
• H 913-339-9246
pat@patcolloton.com

• Mitch Holmes
• St John
• C 785-296-7631
• H 620-234-5834
rep@mitchholmes.com

• Leslie Osterman
Wichita
C 785-296-7659
H 316-269-2640
leslie.osterman@house.ks.gov

• John Rubin
• Shawnee
• C 785-296-7690
• H 913-962-4295
john.rubin@house.ks.gov

• Greg Smith
• Overland Park
• C 785-296-7665
• H 913-383-1574
greg.smith@house.ks.gov
• Gene Suellentrop
• Wichita
• C 785-296-7680
• H 316-260-3663
gene.suellentrop@house.ks.gov

• Annie Kuether
• Topeka
• C 785-296-7669
• H 785-232-0717
annie.kuether@house.ks.gov

• Jim Kelly
• Independence
• C 785-296-6014
• H 620-331-7874
jim.kelly@house.ks.gov

• Jim Ward
• Wichita
• C 785-296-7697
• H 316-683-3609
jwardks88@gmail.com

• Annie Tietze
• Topeka
• C 785-296-7648
• H 785-273-5296
atietze@cox.net
• Ponka-We Victors
• Wichita
C 785-296-7651
H 316-573-6247
ponka-we.victors@house.ks.gov

• Melanie Meier
• Leavenworth
• C 785-296-7668
• H 913-682-1512
meiermel@hotmail.com

• Ronald Ryckman
Meade
C 785-296-7644
H 620-873-5273
ronald.ryckman@house.ks.gov

via Kansans Oppose “Hate Bill” « progressivetoo.

Advertisements
  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 2, 2011 at 11:29 pm
Comments are closed.