Home > Advocacy, Awareness, homophobia, LGBT News > Harps Puts a ‘Family’ Shield over Gay Family US Weekly Cover

Harps Puts a ‘Family’ Shield over Gay Family US Weekly Cover

January 26, 2011

Protecting Children?

 

Today @jennhudd  posted a picture on Twitter taken at her local Mountain Home Arkansas Harps grocery store where apparently the store manager felt the need to protect children from the cover of a racy magazine cover.  The offending material was an US Weekly magazine which on it’s front cover is a picture of Elton John, his partner David Furnish and their new baby. 

Since the photo went viral and has begun to appear across the internet and major news media outlets Harps confirmed that the shielding of the magazine was not at the direction of the corporate office, but at the discression of local store manager.  The store manager covered the magazine after receiving complaints about the cover from some store customers (according to Harps site). When the issue was escalated to the corporate office, the shield was removed.

Thanks @jennhudd for calling this out and making it visible!

As a side note, every time I see any phrase with ‘family’ anything, I want to gag.  I’m absolutely tired of terms like ‘family  shield’,  ‘family friendly’, and ‘family values’.  It’s as if only families have morals or standards.  Personally, I’d rather not see the cover of a Playboy magazine and my guess is that 14 year old Junior WOULD! (well 4 out of 5 anyway).

I’m sure the right-wing hate groups are going to jump all over this.  I can hear it now.  Wholesome Christians are forced to see material that goes against their religion, and now religious expression is under attack by the Homosexual Agenda (I still haven’t gotten my damn copy of that agenda… and I’ve PAID my gym membership for the month!).  The fact of the matter is if ever a ‘Family Shield’ was needed it’s to cover up the likes of the National Organization for Marriage, Family Research Council and Focus on the Family. These are groups that bastardize the meaning of family to perpetuate bigoted views using pseudo-science and the public media to prostilize hate and bigotry.  The next time I see a ‘Family Sheild’ it should be over the logo of any of the aforementioned groups!

  1. January 26, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    Great post! I’m glad this blatant, horrifying homophobia isn’t being swept under the rug. And the fact is, Us Weekly has featured much more objectionable displays that I hardly doubt were shielded to “protect” anyone. In fact, they were likely promoted all over the check out aisles to make money. I put a couple of examples on my blog.

  1. January 27, 2011 at 12:01 am
Comments are closed.