Home > Awareness, LGBT News, National > Thank God I’m Gay

Thank God I’m Gay

November 29, 2010

 

“Thanks for being gay?” you ask. Yes, indeed! And I’m not talking about the stereotypical tongue-in-cheek responses – all the great clothes, fabulous sense of style, hot guys, etc. I’m talking about real bona fide reasons we can thank God we were created just as we are.

Thank God for letting me know who I really am. Because I know I am gay and don’t hide it (anymore) either consciously or subconsciously, I have a better grasp of the person I really am. Consider all the people who wander through life not really understanding deep parts of their own psyche, people who live lives that are so repressed that they have no concept of themselves. Because God helped us to understand ourselves just as we were created, we have a huge advantage over all those poor souls.

No doubt there is still much for us to learn about who we are, but we already have a tremendous head start when we understand that we are gay. When we accept ourselves totally, we are even further ahead in the game. Thank God for the self-awareness that comes with knowing I am gay.

Thank God I can understand and appreciate what it means to be on the margin of society. But why would one want to understand those unfortunate individuals who live on society’s margins? What good can come from that? As I see it, we are better human beings when we have a better grasp of what the world is all about.

Thank God I’m Gay | SouthFloridaGayNews.com

I found this article the other day while surfing the web.  I thought given the start of the Holiday season (I’m intentionally using Holiday… not for political correctness, but because there’s several holidays religious, national, cultural that occur over the next month I didn’t want to ‘exclude’ any day in particular) it seems appropriate to kick it off with introspection. 

As LGBTQ we’ve got more to be thankful for than those who walked before us.  Sure, its definitely not perfect; we haven’t achieved full equality, we don’t have and probably never full will have the acceptance of strangers, it’s still not safe everywhere for each of us to be who we are without having to wear a ‘mask’ at some point…  But that doesn’t mean that it isn’t moving forward in a positive way.  It’s not a straight line to full equality, acceptance or safety.  It’s a series of zig-zags but with each maneuver, whether that be at the national political level, your own community, circle of friends or family we all make small steps towards an awareness and acceptance that the generation before didn’t have the luxury of enjoying. 

Just as important as the political and legal strides we’re making as a community today are the cultural strides we’re making.  It seems we’re more comfortable with who we are on a personal level, you don’t have to be afraid to be ‘out’ and be whomever you are.  We have positive gay role models; celebrities, athletes, politicians, co-workers, friends, neighbors and family that because the world is safer to be gay are out, proud and helping others understand who they are. 

The best thing that’s happening in todays gay movement is that gays are encouraged to be out and proud of who they are like never before.  Pushing the envelope, raising awareness and showing the world that we’re just like everyone else.  By standing up and standing out, we’re helping the next generation ‘fit in’.  By often being on the fringes of society, we’re broadening societies norm.  I once had a co-worker tell me that he always thought gays were way different than everyone else until he’d had the opportunity to work with me and get to know me; it was then he realized that there were no differences between us (other than our choice of spouses). 

As we move into the Holiday season, it’s important to look back at where we’ve been so that we can move forward more effectively.  2010 isn’t shaping up to be the year which ends Don’t Ask Don’t Tell or give equal protection under the law, or marriage in all 50 states, but it does mark another successful ‘zig’ in raising awareness, in adoption rights, in marriage and ultimately equality and acceptance.  There are more victories to be had and more setbacks to bond us together; overall though, thank God I’m gay and live in a time where I can affect positive change one small step at a time and a giant leap for the next generation.

Happy Holidays folks… enjoy the season in your own special way because everyone of us IS special.

