Home > About Us > Release Dorothy

Release Dorothy

October 12, 2010

I chose today, National Coming Out Day, as the day to take my next step in coming out of the closet…   I’ve been out of the closet for several years to friends, family and co-workers.  As I read the news this morning about politicians stifling equality legislation, children taking their lives because they’ve been bullied, people beaten in New York for being Gay, and religious zealots condeming LGBT people because of their ‘lifestyle’ and ‘sins’ I can no longer hide in the community closet.  I decided I could not be part of a silent community that passively allows politicians to tell me and my community that we’re not as good as the next person, that religious theology takes precedence over our humanity and let companies take our money and use it against us.

I decided to take action in several ways… I setup a reoccuring donation to an Equality cause, I’m going to give time to groups furthering LGBT causes, and I started my blog… Release Dorothy.

ReleaseDorothy.com is dedicated to sharing current issues and information affecting the LGBT community along the Wasatch Front.

I chose the title “Release Dorothy” for a couple reasons…

First, because it’s a cry out to those who through ignorance, hate, bigotry, bullying, religious fervor or silence to STOP treating LGBT people as second class citizens, discriminating against us and judging us for who we are…

Second, because I see it as a call to arms… to every LGBT youth, adult and friend… RELEASE Dorothy!  Let her stand up, stand proud and stand out!  Stop hiding yourselves among your straight peers, within your families, from your spouse and among your coworkers.  As LGBT we unlike many other minorities can hide among the masses…. we chose who, how and when to share who we are with others.  It’s time to show our strength and numbers!

Being part of a silent majority LGBT community is no longer acceptable.  Use your voice, your words, your economic power and take ACTION!  Don’t shop at stores who further the anti-gay discriminatory agenda, vote against politicians who continue to stifle equality legislation, attend rallies & protests to further the LGBT community causes and volunteer locally!  Come OUT of the closet so that everyone knows who you are and what you stand for.  Do it for those who fought and sometimes died (God bless Harvey Milk) for who they were, do it for those children who took their own lives because of bullying or being ashamed of who they are, do it for future generations so that they will not endure what we’ve endured and do it for yourself… be a better person, server a higher cause give every LGBT person hope for a fair and equal future and release YOUR inner Dorothy!

“Hope will never be silent”–Harvey Milk

  1. Larry Taylor
    October 12, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    That couldn’t have been said any better.

  2. October 12, 2010 at 3:11 am

    Very well said. In a society like ours, no one should have to feel like they are less than anyone else. We are all human beings and we are all different. Being different isn’t a crime.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.