Home > Advocacy, National > Today is National Coming Out Day

Today is National Coming Out Day

October 11, 2010

Today is National Coming Out Day. If you’re LGBT and you live your life openly celebrate the day by re-declaring who you are and hopefully it’ll give someone struggling to come to terms with who they are the courage to stand up, be counted and live their lives openly.

If you’re considering coming out and you need guidance, HRC offers information here.

  1. October 12, 2010 at 1:06 am

    Hi- My name is Phil Black and I’m out and Gay. I was 35 when I first came out of the closet to both myself and those around me. As difficult as it was, 6 years later when I look back I realize it was far more difficult to be IN the closet that it is to just be myself. Although this is a national coming out day, if your an out LGBT person every day is a coming out day. Everytime you meet someone new or even someone who simply didn’t know, the process begins again. That’s not really a bad thing. Every time I get to share who I am with someone new or someone who didn’t know it’s an opportunity to raise awareness, to further the cause of equality and fairness and to stand out, open and proud of who I am regardless of approval.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.